Who We Are


Government of India took the lead in developing Delhi Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC) Project on the backbone of Western Dedicated Freight Corridor (DFC) between Delhi and Mumbai covering an overall length of 1504 km and passing through the States of U.P, Delhi NCR, Haryana, Rajasthan, Gujarat and Maharashtra, with end terminals at Dadri in the Delhi NCR and Jawaharlal Nehru Port (JNPT) near Mumbai. The influence region for DMIC includes the States of U.P, Haryana, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat and Maharashtra.

Thereafter, looking at the progress of DMIC Project, Govt. of India announced other Industrial Corridor Projects and accordingly, in December 2016, the mandate for DMIC Trust was expanded to include all other industrial corridors across India namely:

  • Amritsar Kolkata Industrial Corridor (AKIC)
  • Chennai Bengaluru Industrial Corridor (CBIC)
  • East Coast Economic Corridor (ECEC) with Vizag Chennai Industrial Corridor (VCIC) as Phase 1
  • Bengaluru Mumbai Industrial Corridor (BMIC)

The DMIC Trust was accordingly renamed as National Industrial Corridor Development and Implementation Trust (NICDIT) and future corridors, if any will also be developed and implemented by NICDIT.

A brief about other Industrial Corridor Projects announced by Govt. of India is as follows:

  • Amritsar Kolkata Industrial Corridor (AKIC) is being developed on the backbone of Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor (EDFC) covering an overall length of 1856 km and passing through the States of Punjab, Haryana, U.P, Bihar, Jharkhand and West Bengal with end terminals at Ludhiana near Amritsar (Punjab) and Dankuni near Kolkata (West Bengal). The influence region for AKIC includes the States of Punjab, Haryana, Uttarakhand, U.P, Bihar, Jharkhand and West Bengal.
  • Chennai Bengaluru Industrial Corridor (CBIC) is being developed between Chennai, Bengaluru and Chitradurga covering an overall length of about 560 km. The CBIC proposes to address infrastructure bottlenecks through a holistic approach while benefiting from the inherent strengths and competitiveness of each of the CBIC States. The Chennai Bengaluru Industrial Corridor (CBIC) covers parts of three States, referred as CBIC states (viz. Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh).
  • The Government of India is developing Bengaluru Mumbai Industrial Corridor (BMIC) between Bengaluru and Mumbai, which would have an Influence Area spread across the States of Karnataka and Maharashtra.
  • East Coast Economic Corridor (ECEC) will be the nation's first coastal corridor. It stands out in comparison with other proposed national corridors as it hosts several ports along the east coast that serve not only as international gateways, but more importantly as critical links in supply chain. In the latter role, ports are a source of value creation for firms that provide services ranging from logistics to packaging to production clusters and distribution centers, and play a significant role in economic development. Vizag Chennai Industrial Corridor (VCIC) has been identified as first phase of ECEC.
  • Vision

    To create strong economic base with globally competitive environment and state-of-the-art infrastructure to activate local commerce, enhance foreign investments and attain sustainable development.